For readers of Narnia…

…we have a pair of short fantasy novels, written by a Victorian theologian who was a powerful influence on Lewis’s fiction.  There is a witch with white hair, some angry goblins, a magic secret only the heroine can see, and animals that can very nearly talk.

 

George MacDonald’s The Princess and the Goblin and The Princess and Curdie are bizarre, fantastical, and profound tales.  Our edition includes both novels, with a pair of essays exploring their approach to fantasy, their style and their theology, for a very reasonable price.

Advertisements

For readers of Mapp and Lucia…

…we have another E.F. Benson novel, set in a private hotel in a hoiday resort, where eccentric characters pursue their personal obsessions.  They bicker, scheme and domineer, until two of them see the possibility of a new life and a kind of love they hadn’t admitted they wanted.