Paying Guests

paying-guests-cover

A social comedy by E F Benson, with all the scheming and one-up-man-ship familiar from the Mapp and Lucia novels. Paying Guests includes a guesthouse in a faded resort, an art exhibition and a charity concert. But there’s also a more profound side to this novel, which explores sexuality, love, and philosophy.

The seaside-inspired cover of the book is actually based on a photo of Henley, taken on a trip for a cousin’s wedding, which seems a suitably EF Benson-style anecdote.

Advertisements

For readers of Mapp and Lucia…

…we have another E.F. Benson novel, set in a private hotel in a hoiday resort, where eccentric characters pursue their personal obsessions.  They bicker, scheme and domineer, until two of them see the possibility of a new life and a kind of love they hadn’t admitted they wanted.